Evacuation Orders

Local governments have ordered or issued the following evacuation instructions:


County / Municipality



Brunswick - Caswell Beach   Voluntary evacaution is ordered for all non-residents (renters, vacationers and guests) effective 8am Monday August 3.
Brunswick - Holden Beach Renters/vacationers/guests required to evacuate by 7 pm Saturday, Aug 1.  
Brunswick - Oak Island

Mandatory Evacuation for all non-residents and residents effective at noon on Wednesday Aug. 5, 2020 for all areas west of SE 40th Street on Beach Drive, Dolphin Drive and Pelican Drive. A Curfew is in effect for the intire Town of Oak Island from 6pm till 6am every night until further notice. The beach is closed from SE 40th Street to the West End of the Island. Issuance of parking decals remains suspended until further notice. 

Oak Island has removed curfew from all areas except those within the Mandatory Evacuation Area.

Brunswick - Ocean Isle Beach Renters/vacationers/guests required to evacuate by Saturday, Aug 1. at 12 pm.  
Brunswick - Town of Varnamtown   Effective Monday Aug. 3, 2020 Voluntary evacauation for low lying and flood prone areas within the Varnamtown limits.
Dare - Hatteras Island

Mandatory evacuation has been ordered for Hatteras Island visitors beginning Saturday, August 1 at 12:00 p.m.

The evacuation order is for Evacuation Zone A which covers all areas of Hatteras Island, including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village.

A mandatory evacuation order for Hatteras Island residents and property owners becomes effective on Sunday, August 2 at 6:00 a.m. 

Hyde - Ocracoke Island

Evacuation Order has been lifted. 

Sampson - Franklin Township   Voluntary evacuation order for all persons residing in or visiting Franklin Township, including the area south of Highway 411 from Harrells to Clear Run, and the area south of Highway 41, effective at 4 pm on Monday, Aug 3.